You’re Missing and I’m Missing

Warmth on entering a home, laughter, small hands,
Excitement of overcoming obstacles,
Talking about the beauty of the moon
Reflecting in your eyes
As my head falls gently upon your perfect shoulder.
You are missing for as long as God keeps us apart.
For as long as He wants us to fight alone,
To swim in stormy seas,
And swing through jungle trees
While cheetahs leap at our ankles,
We fly alone until He says “enough!”
When my greatness and your greatness
Are good enough to combine.
Weak things He makes strong
And I have to be strong to make you strong.
He speaks through my words that fall into your heart
And my blackened lungs must heal
To trust you enough to love me for eternity.
I always dreamed of eternity
As my soul longed to visit the other side of earth
Where rainbows shine in snowflakes
That fall encompassed in tears of joy.

My fibres reached for you,
My skin crept beyond my fingertips
Stretching into the space
That separated me from your ribs I birthed from;
I searched for the bird inside your chest
As I crept and listened and shouted and pleaded,
And fell to my knees
Asking the night sky to give you back to me.
We were together once,
When you and I chose one another,
We knew we’d be apart.

I have run from my fears without your hand to hold,
Afraid that my soul would be snatched again,
Apprehensive to allow people to see my face
Beneath a white veil disguising a smile
That would live for you and die for you.

Our romance materialises
not from gestures or pastel words,
Not in communication or boldness
But in the silence of our peace
As we remember we were created together.
I have missed you,
And the emptiness you left
Is begging the stars to fill it
With the light you gave me before we lived here.

Time has become more bearable,
Are you getting closer to nourishing my heart
With the rhythm of the pulsing universe?
Find me, quick!
We’ll travel between layers of worlds upon worlds
And shoot arrows of willow
At galaxies leading us to divine exaltation.

via Daily Prompt: Missing

One thought on “You’re Missing and I’m Missing

  1. Anonymous December 12, 2016 / 8:48 pm

    swing through jungle trees While cheetahs leap at our ankles, Even John Keats wouldn’t of come up with such a brilliant line!

    Like

Leave a Reply

